Katy Perry vs. Erasure

So the other day I was tidying up and I could hear my daughter playing some music in her room. She was playing Katy Perry’s Firework and I noticed something about the song…something I could swear that I heard before.

There’s a part of the song, the ‘pre-chorus’ (if that’s even a proper term when it comes to song writing) that is eerily familiar to a song I heard many years ago, Always by Erasure.

So I went to YouTube and looked it up to either confirm my assumption or put this earworm to rest and sure enough, the melodies in each song are very similar.

Sure, it’s not a first for this sort of thing but I thought I would share and perhaps you can tell me what you think. Let’s examine:

First, have a listen to Firework. Feel free to start it from the beginning but if you want to jump to the part I’m talking about…it’s from 0:47 to 1:00..Incidentally, it’s when her chest bursts into Roman candles..just watch..

Now have a listen to Always by Erasure. As luck would have it..the matching melody from this song is approximately at the same point of the Katy Perry tune 0:40 to 0:58. Hmm…

So what do you think, kids? Chance? Coincidence? Nothing new under the sun? I thought they sounded similar…what do you think?

e.

2 thoughts on “Katy Perry vs. Erasure

  1. So similar! I knew there was something I liked about that song (and not just the association with Katy Perry’s flaming boobs). I dunno if it’s intentional. Whoever wrote Fireworks probably grew up with the likes of Erasure, so the influence is bound to pop out once in a while.

  2. thank you for posting this. the katy perry chorus has been driving me nuts – and the radio hasn’t made the nagging similiarity any easier.

Leave a Reply

